Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Book description (from Angus & Robertson Australia) –

A cold February morning…a snowy road…and suddenly all of Mia’s choices are gone. Except one. As alone as she’ll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all. Gripping, heartrending and ultimately life-affirming, If I Stay will make you appreciate all that you have, all that you’ve lost – and all that might be.

Review

My review for If I Stay is going to be a little different. I usually include my own book description but this is one of those stories where if I describe the book in any great detail, it will give away major spoilers. So instead, I’m going to only write a very small book description and focus mainly on my thoughts.

If I Stay is a story about a heartbreaking decision that a seventeen year old girl named Mia has to make. After being in a car accident, she has to decide whether to stay and fight for her life or to move on into the afterlife. Mia’s story is one that will stay with you long after you have read it, because once you read the final page, you will be asking yourself, “how could a person handle having to make a decision like that?”

I read If I Stay in four hours because I couldn’t leave Mia, I had to know what choice she would make. Gayle Forman’s If I Stay is a beautifully written, very emotional book that really gets you thinking. The story is sad, I reached for the tissues on several occasions, but it is worth the read.

Some of the details about the accident were a little too graphic/intense for me, but don’t let that put you off. I’m glad that I read this book, and I will definitely be reading the sequel.

4/5

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

