Q & A with D. Apodaca – author of Captivated

Hi everyone. *waves hello*  Below is my interview with the lovely Deb Apodaca – author of the amazing novel, Captivated (An Affliction Novel #1). Thank you very much to Deb for the interview.  🙂

*********

Would you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m a boring house mom with a BIG imagination! When I look at something crafty at the store I don’t buy it, I go home and make it just to see if I could. I’m married to my high school sweet heart with two trolls that keep me busy (the boy is trouble!). I think that about sums me up…lol. Not much to tell! 🙂

Who are some of your favourite authors?

You know…I haven’t really been reading that long. I read teen novels as research to make sure ‘Captivated’ doesn’t sound like another book. For now, I would say Jeanine Frost is my absolute favorite! Along with J.R. Ward, Gena Showalter, Becca Fitzpatrick, Lauren Kate, and L. J. Smith. Heh…I guess I do have a list!

What book are you currently reading?

It’s Gena Showalters ‘Into the Dark’. I’m really looking forward to this one! *huba huba*

Do you have a favourite place where you like to write?

At a beach house as early as possible so that I can feel the cool breeze and the sound of the waves crashing as I take sips of my delicious coffee. Crap! You said favorite…I guess I read fantasy instead…lol. I like to write anyplace my kids and husband aren’t at! I don’t care where it is, I just need my ipod and a table and I’m good to go.

How long did it take you to write Captivated?

Two long years and one year to do revisions and editing. I still think it needed more editing! But it’s FINALLY coming out!

What is the hardest part of writing a novel?

For me it would be being descriptive. I want you readers to see and feel everything that’s going on and that was challenging for me. Everytime I would do revisions I would say to myself, “This is crap! There’s not enough detail” and I would add some more here and there until there was too much! So I would take some out again…lol.

The cover of Captivated is gorgeous – who designed it?

I envisioned it and Ariel Body from livelaughdesign.com brought it to life. She was sooo patient with me! Thanks Ariel!!! I believe everything can be better, so I will most likely re-do the cover at some point. I can’t wait to get started on the second book cover though!

Describe each of the following characters, in 5 words or less – Mindy, Dean and Markus.

Mindy: Curious, Persistent, Loving, Cheerful, and Compassionate.
Dean: Dark, Dangerous, Argumentative, Fearless, and HOT!!!
Markus: Loyal, Goofy, Brave, Dependable, and Imaginative.

Who is your favourite Captivated character to write about?

Hmmm…so far it’s Dean because there is so much going on in his head and there is always action around him. For the second book, I’m writing a part from Markus’ point of view and it’s fun! He get’s into the funniest predicaments. I’m more connected with Markus’ character though and I enjoy writing about him the most because I based that character off of my younger brother. It’s fun putting him into situations.

Are there any songs that you feel compliment a particular scene in Captivated?

There’s so many! Ummm…let’s see, ‘Walk Away’ by Five Fingered Death Punch would sum up their relationship…kind of. But for a scene, ‘Bombshell’ by Powerman 5000 would be the fight scene at the end! I’m going to be putting up a playlist on my site soon. My picks are a little crazy though…heeee!

How would you describe Captivated in one sentence?

EMOTIONAL. I say that because it brings to you all sorts of emotions.
Happiness, sadness, anger, excitement. You’ll see, it gets crazy!

Is there anything you can share with us about the next book in the series?

The first book is basically just an introduction to the characters. The second book has soooo much going on that I know for sure it will be much longer. I don’t even know how I’m going to fit it all in there. You’ll hate me for doing certain things…I’ll just say that for now. 🙂

**********

Thank you to Deb Apodaca for the awesome interview and for your support of Treasured Tales for Young Adults.  It is greatly appreciated.  🙂

~*~

More information about Dep Apodaca and the Affliction series:

blog  ~ goodreads ~ the affliction series websitefacebook ~ twitter

 
5 thoughts on “Q & A with D. Apodaca – author of Captivated

  1. When is book 2 coming out??????? I just finished this book in tears and i really am dying to read the next one!

  2. I can’t wait for book ONE! I’m ordering mine from B&N when it comes out, FINALLY, since I wasn’t lucky enough to win one!ARGHHHH! 😀 I can NOT wait to get my hands on this book! those chapters she put up on Facebook have me OBSESSED :O

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

