Review: Pulse of Heroes by A. Jacob Sweeny

Pulse of Heroes by A. Jacob Sweeny

Book description (from Goodreads) –

Michelle used to feel that she was behind in everything, especially school and relationships. Her great aunt from the old country says that she is like a bland meal, “no salt or pepper”. But in junior year, everything changes. Her father takes a position on the Town Council, a popular boy in school becomes interested in her and, most importantly, the Hekademos Learning Center, a private school for ‘troubled’ students, moves into her quiet neighborhood amidst the protests of the entire town.

After an embarrassing fall over the school wall, Michelle meets Elliot and her ordinary ‘bland’ life changes its course forever. Elliot is no ordinary human. In fact, no one at the Hekademos Learning Center is. Ultimately, Michelle will have to trust her intuition in order to face the danger and uncertainty of being drawn into Elliot’s wondrous world.

Review

When Michelle discovers that the Hekademos Learning Center is moving into her neighborhood she is instantly intrigued and takes it upon herself to investigate the new school. When a spying incident goes horribly wrong, Michelle finds herself hiding in the compounds of the school, where she witnesses one of the students, Elliot, do something that is not humanly possible.

Unable to believe her eyes, Michelle’s intrigue in the school deepens, along with her curiosity about Elliot. The more she tries to learn about him, the more confused she gets, one minute he is friendly to her, the next he is rude. One thing is for certain, Michelle is determined to discover Elliot’s secret and when she does, it is unlike anything she ever expected.

~*~

Wow, this is why I love to read, because of books like this. Pulse of Heroes is rich in history, suspense, action, mystery and romance, which author A. Jacob Sweeny blends together perfectly, to create an absolutely amazing and unique story.

I fell in love with this book. From the very first page, I was intrigued and the book captivated me from beginning to end. I found myself reading into the early hours of the morning because I didn’t want to put it down. The story pulled me in and I was eagerly turning the pages, desperate to find out what would happen next.

Elliot and Michelle, the main characters, I absolutely adored. I became emotionally attatched to them and cared about what they were going through. Not only that, I also loved the secondary characters. Sometimes in a novel, the secondary charcters are not well developed, they are written only to further the main characters stories, but not with Pulse of Heroes. Each character in the novel was beautifully written with their own story to tell.

Pulse of Heroes has some amazing twists that I did not see coming and I often found myself thinking about Elliot and Michelle, during the day, wondering what would happen in their story next. When a book has that effect on you, you know it’s good.

After I finished reading the novel, I felt that, not only had I just read an incredible story (one that I will read again and again) but that I had also learnt something as Pulse of Heroes is full of history, that you can’t help but be intrigued by.

One of the best books I have read this year, I highly recommend Pulse of Heroes by author A. Jacob Sweeny. I am eagerly anticipating the release of the next book in the series, and will be purchasing it the very first day it is released.

5/5 An amazing read.

*Recommended for mature readers, 16+, due to some adult content.

*Thank you to A. Jacob Sweeny, who went above and beyond to get a copy of this book to me. It is greatly appreciated.

 

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

