Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Book description (from Goodreads) –

I remember forwards. I remember forwards, and forget backwards. My memories, bad, boring, or good, haven’t happened yet. So I will remember standing in the fresh-cut grass with the black-clad figures surrounded by stone until I do it for real. I will remember the funeral until it happens – until someone dies. And after that, it will be forgotten.

Here’s the thing about me: I can see my future, but my past is blank. I see the future in flashes, like memories. I remember what I’ll wear tomorrow, and a car crash that won’t happen till this afternoon. But yesterday has evaporated from my mind – just like the boy I love. I can’t see him in my future. I can’t remember him from my past. But today, I love him. And I never want to forget how much.

Review

London Lane has a mysterious condition, in which during the early hours of the morning her mind resets and the previous day is erased from her memory. She can’t remember her past but she can see pieces of her future. A future she can remember until it occurs, then, just like always, her mind will reset and it will be forgotten.

London doesn’t let her condition get in the way, she writes notes, telling her what she needs to take to school, what she wore the day before and that she has a boyfriend Luke. Luke is the one exception in her ability to see into her future…she can’t see him. All London has with Luke is today, then she forget’s him. Everyday she meets Luke for the first time and London can’t understand why she can’t see him in her future. What does it mean and can she do anything to change it?

~*~

Before I had even read a page of Forgotten, I was already intrigued, due to the book’s storyline, and once I started reading, that intrigue was not lost. Forgotten is a very unique, beautifully written story that I read in five hours because I had to know what happened.

London, the main character, is strong, kind, protective and she doesn’t let her condition rule her life.

Everyday she wakes up with no memory of the previous day and each day she displays strength and determination, to not allow her condition to get the better of her.

Forgotten also has a few twists in the story which were totally unexpected and I liked the added mystery of London not being able to see Luke in her future. I was always wondering – will today be the day that London see’s Luke in her future?

The only thing I had trouble with was that I found the first few chapters a little confusing. It just took me a few chapters to completely understand how London’s condition worked and as to how her notes, that she wrote to herself, worked. Even when reading those first few chapters, I never considered putting the book down, the confusion was only slight and the more I read, the more I understood London’s condition.

Cat Patrick, created a very original, very unique story in Forgotten. With romance, humour and mystery, Patrick has written an amazing story, one that I am glad I read.

4/5

One thought on “Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

