Q & A with Michelle Scott (author of Uncommon Magic, Blood Sisters)

Below is my interview with the lovely Michelle Scott, author of the fantastic young adult novels – Blood Sisters and Uncommon Magic.

Thank you very much to Michelle for the interview.

Would you tell us a little about yourself?

Well, I’m a wife and mother to three teenagers and we live in Detroit. We are a family that loves to go to the movies, so I call the movie theater down the street our second home (the one I don’t have to clean, lol.) My favorite place in the world is the swing in my backyard because, in warm weather at least, that is where I do most of my reading. I also like music quite a bit…everything from Miles Davis to Lady Gaga, and I sing in the car when I drive by myself.

Did you always want to be an author?

Yes. In fact, I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t making up stories. The writing part came later, of course.

When you are writing do you like to listen to music for inspiration?

I love all kinds of music, but when I write, I stick to electronica – groups like Zero 7 and Morcheeba. I’m not sure I would call it inspiration so much as background noise. For some reason, it helps to keep me focused. Probably because it drowns out the telephone, the dog, the kids, etc.

Who is your favourite author and do you have an all time favourite book?

This is a very difficult question! I’m not sure if I could pick just one author since I like so many, but I guess I really had to pick one, I’d go for Stephen King and his book “The Stand”. There was something so epic about that book that I often think about it even though I read it over twenty-five years ago. King’s characters have always been very real to me, and his settings draw me right into the story. I like to tell people that Stephen King taught me how to write. (Just not in person, obviously.)

How would you describe your novel Blood Sisters in one sentence?

Starla’s desire for revenge gave her the courage to become a vampire, but from the moment she changed, she realized one thing: being a vampire sucks.

A lot of novels today glamorise vampirism but in your novel Blood Sisters you show a different side to the life of a vampire. What was your inspiration for this?

I actually got the idea for the book from my younger daughter who really wanted to be a vampire when she was about nine years old (probably because of the Twilight books.) I kept telling her that being a vampire would be no fun at all because of the whole drinking blood thing, but she insisted it would be wonderful. As a result, I ended up writing the book as a kind of joking cautionary tale. In fact, the book is dedicated to her. I’m not sure if it was the book or not, but since then, my daughter no longer wants to be a vampire. Now she wants to be a pirate. (Thank you ever so much, Johnny Depp…)

How would you describe Mira, the main character in Uncommon Magic, in 5 words or less?

Love-struck. Innocent. Quick-witted. Foolhardy. Loyal.

What was your favourite part/scene of Uncommon Magic to write and why?

Whenever I write, I always have a pair of characters whose chemistry seems stronger than anyone else’s. In the case of Uncommon Magic, my favorite pair are Mira, an uncultured, common girl from a small fishing village, and Quentin, the privileged son of a Magician. There’s a lot of bigotry in the book between those who can use magic, and those who cannot. And although Quentin is good-natured and friendly, he’s a little clueless as to how difficult the lives of commons like Mira are. I love the way the relationship between these two opposite characters develops. Despite their differences, Quentin and Mira end up teaching each other a lot. They also have a nice romantic tension going, even though neither of them seems to realize it.

Will there be a sequel to Blood Sisters or Uncommon Magic?

Although I wouldn’t entirely discount the idea, I don’t have any immediate plans to, no. I’ve found that characters have a way of insisting you pay attention to them, and if they want to return in a story, then they’ll make sure you know it!

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m changing directions right now and, in a few weeks, am putting out an adult, urban fantasy series about a modern woman, Lilith Straight, who discovers that her great-great-great-great-great grandmother made a deal with the Devil in order to escape being hanged as a witch. Unfortunately, that deal extends to every female child in the lineage, and now it’s up to Lilith to carry on the family tradition by working as a succubus. It’s light-hearted, funny (hopefully), and just a little bit naughty.

*********

Thank you Michelle.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Q & A with Michelle Scott (author of Uncommon Magic, Blood Sisters)

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

