Review: In the Shadows by Julieanne Lynch

In the Shadows by Julieanne Lynch (A Shadow World Novel #1)

Book description (from Goodreads) –

“In The Shadows”, the first of The Shadows trilogy, is an urban fantasy of vampires and the supernatural, and much, much more. In the shadows you will find lust and passion, battles for power and for blood, and death and fear around every corner. In the shadows you are carried away to an unknown future. Your destiny awaits, and you are no longer who you thought you were. You have a thirst, for blood perhaps, but a thirst for very much more than that.

Giselle was a normal girl with an attitude common to most girls of her age. Her family might not have been perfect (whose is?) but she loved them, and her future looked bright. She had an awesome best friend and a steady boyfriend, but how could she possibly have been so wrong about someone she loved? And how could she have been prepared for the darkness and for what she was to become?

Review

Giselle’s life forever changes when she discovers that her best friend, Alex, is not who he seems. Shocked by the revelations, Giselle has no time to come to terms with what she has just been told, she is immediately thrown in to Alex’s world.

Separated from all those she loves and cares about, Giselle has no-one to turn to and no-one she can trust. Her old life is over and in its place is a life surrounded by lies, betrayals and darkness. Who can Giselle trust? Can she even trust herself?

Giselle is about to discover that sometimes it’s the ones that you love the most, that cause the most heartbreak.

~*~

Wow, what an amazing novel. I was so swept up by the story that I couldn’t tear my eyes away from it. I read into the early hours of the morning because I had to know what was going to happen next.

Within the first few chapters of In the Shadows, Giselle is thrown into a supernatural world. She has no-one to support her, no-one she can truly talk to, all she can do is take one step at a time, do what she believes is right and try to survive in her new surroundings. Giselle knows that everyone around her is telling her half-truths and she tries to cope as best she can.

There were so many times throughout In the Shadows, where Giselle was backed into a corner and had to make quick, life-changing decisions. She had so much to deal with, and I felt that throughout the novel her inner-strength grew and grew and began to shine through.

I loved the way that Julieanne Lynch wrote Giselle’s character. As a reader I really cared about Giselle and what she was going through; at times my heart just broke for her. Julieanne really gets to the heart of Giselle and her emotions, making Giselle a character that the reader can easily form a connection to.

One of the other characters that I really liked was Antoine. I don’t know whether I completely trust him or not, but what I do know is that I can’t wait to read more about him. Antoine is mysterious and sarcastic, and I never knew what he was going to say or do next. The banter between Antoine and Giselle is brilliant.

I love it when a novel keeps me guessing and In the Shadows did just that. With twists, turns, shocks and surprises, I was eagerly turning the pages, desperate for more. I can’t wait to read the sequel.

In the Shadows is absolutely amazing.

5/5

*Recommended for mature readers, 16+, due to some adult content.

*Thank you to Julieanne Lynch for providing me with a copy of In the Shadows to review.

Note:  In the Shadows is now titled Within the Shadows and has a new cover.                               >>>>>>>>>>>>>

2 thoughts on “Review: In the Shadows by Julieanne Lynch

  1. Thank you for this AMAZING review, Alishia. I am so thankful you fell in love with Giselle and her journey. I look forward to you reading the next book. Surprises galore 🙂

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

