Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Book description (from Goodreads) –

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

In this electrifying debut, Tahereh Mafi presents a world as riveting as The Hunger Games and a superhero story as thrilling as The X-Men. Full of pulse-pounding romance, intoxicating villainy, and high-stakes choices, Shatter Me is a fresh and original dystopian novel—with a paranormal twist—that will leave readers anxiously awaiting its sequel.

Review

Juliette has been locked in a cell, alone, for 264 days. Locked in a cell for something that she never meant to do. Locked away for something that she had no control over: When Juliette touches someone she can kill them, with just one touch. Everyone thinks that Juliette is dangerous, a monster, someone that needs to be locked up. So that is exactly what the Reestablishment did.

Now all Juliette has to keep her company is the numbers that she counts in her head to pass the time, the notebook that she keeps hidden in the wall to write down her thoughts and the pen that is running out of ink. For 264 days Juliette has not spoken to anyone, but all that is about to change.

The Reestablishment – which now has control over the population – has plans for Juliette; plans that horrify her. Juliette doesn’t want to use her touch to hurt people. All she wants is to be able to connect to humanity, to love and to be loved, but how can she connect to people when she can’t even touch them? When they are frightened of her?

~*~

Wow, this is the best dystopian novel that I have read. I just adore Shatter Me, so much so, that I have already read it twice, and I will definitey read it again and again.

Tahereh Mafi has such a beautiful, elegant and poetic way of writing. Her words are beautiful, the story she has created is amazing and her characters, Juliette and Adam, will capture your heart.

Juliette is such a beautiful character. For 264 days she has been alone, and part of her belives that she deserves to be locked in a cell, that she is a monster, but there is also a part of her that still has hope, even though that part of her is small, it is there and it keeps her spirit alive. She has an inner strength that is just waiting to come to the surface and shine through. Juliette is so kind and has such a pure heart and she doesn’t realize that she has more kindness in her, more humanity, than most of the people that are living just outside the builidng where her cell is located.

I was immediately able to connect to Juliette. Her thoughts and emotions just leapt off the page and captured my heart. I wanted her to be happy, I wanted things to work out for her.

The other character that captured my heart was Adam. I don’t want to say too much about him because I don’t want to give any of the story away. I’ll just say that he is also a beautiful character and I believe that he will become a very popular and much loved character, as will Juliette.

Shatter Me is full of suspense, action and is oh so romantic. I just wanted to keep reading and reading because I was swept away be the story and the characters. I recently read that Shatter Me is going to be a trilogy and I am so excited. I can’t wait to read what happens next.

If you love dystopian novels, paranormal/supernatural novels or just love romance then this is the novel for you. A must read.

5/5

2 thoughts on “Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. YESSSSSSSSSSSs
    I knew you’d like it as much as I did!!!!!
    I’m completely obsessed with Juliette and Adam and Shatter Me in general I read it twice already too!! >.< omg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! omg!!!!!!!!!!!
    I think this year will have to be the year of rereads!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

