Review: Dark Matter Heart by Nathan Wrann

Dark Matter Heart by Nathan Wrann (Cor Griffin Bloodsuckers #1)

Book description (from Goodreads) –

A new town. A new school. A new beginning. Seventeen year-old Cordell Griffin and his mother move from Los Angeles to the Pacific Northwest to deal with his “allergies,” and start a healthier new life. Cor has one goal: To blend in and be invisible. Unfortunately for him, no matter how far he goes, he can’t run away from his secrets. Secrets about who he is. Secrets about why he’s sick. And secrets about why so many people he meets end up dead, drained of blood.

In “Dark Matter Heart”, the origin novel in the “Cor Griffin Bloodsuckers” Young Adult Paranormal Thriller series from filmmaker Nathan Wrann, Cor must uncover the mysteries of his past and conquer the secrets of the present in order to protect the girl of his future, and save himself.

Review

When Cor Griffin moves from Los Angeles to the cloudy Pacific Northwest all he wants to do is stay out of trouble, and not attract any attention to himself or his mysterious illness…but fate has other plans. On his first day at his new school, Cor finds himself on the path to becoming friends with the quiet smart guy, Taylor, attracting the attention of a girl named Caitlyn and being beaten up by the school’s bullies. So much for Cor’s plans.

Trouble seems to follow Cor wherever he goes, but is that all that follows him? What is Cor’s mysterious illness and why is he so keen on isloating himself?

~*~

I really enjoyed reading Dark Matter Heart. It was intriguing, interesting and unique. From the very first page, I was intrigued by Cor and his mysterious allergies/illness. I had my suspicions as to what I thought his illness was and I liked the way in which Cor’s illness was revealed to the reader. It came up at a point in the story, where I wasn’t expecting it. Author, Nathan Wrann has a great talent at keeping the reader in suspense. It got to the point where I skipped watching a show on television because I wanted to keep reading to see how the story ended.

Dark Matter Heart just doesn’t focus on supernatural elements and romance; it also focuses on friendship. Cor and Taylor’s growing friendship was a key part of the story and I thought it was refreshing that the novel included the importance of friendship. It was nice to see a friendship as a major part of the story and not hidden away in the background.

Caitlyn was a character that I enjoyed reading about too. I liked the chemistry between Cor and Caitlyn and I loved how author, Nathan Wrann, balanced all the elements of the story perfectly. The suspense didn’t overshadow the romance and the romance didn’t overshadow the friendship: It was all balanced perfectly.

Dark Matter Heart is intriguing from beginning to end and it keeps the reader guessing. There are also quite a few twists in the story and they are so unexpected that it leaves you thinking – wow, I never saw that coming.

Nathan Wrann has written a fantastic novel that I think readers of the paranormal/supernatural genre will enjoy.

4/5

*Thank you to Nathan Wrann for providing me with a copy of Dark Matter Heart to review.

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

