Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Book description (from Goodreads) –

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

Review

When Mara wakes up in the hospital with no idea as to why she is there, or the events that lead up to it, she is shocked to discover that three of her friends are dead and that she was the only one to survive the accident. But what accident? Mara has no memory of it.

After being released from hospital Mara is struggling to cope, so her family decide to move to Florida for a new start. However, Mara is about to discover that sometimes you just can’t escape your past.

She may be in a new city, away from where the accident occured, but strange things are happening to her. Slowly she is remembering pieces of the night the accident happened, but can she trust her memory? And when Mara starts seeing dead people she begins to think that maybe she should be in an asylum. Is it just post-traumatic stress disorder or is something supernatural happening to Mara?

Then there is Noah: he is sarcastic, charismatic and annoying all at the same time. All Mara wants is for Noah to leave her alone…but is that truly how she feels?

~*~

I so wanted to love this novel. When I first saw this book the beautiful cover immediately held my attention, and I had heard so many wonderful things about this novel that I was really excited to read it. I liked it, but I felt that sometimes there was too much going on in the story.

At times the story confused me and I felt lost. The first chapter is intriguing and a touch creepy and you just know that something bad is about to happen, and it does set up the story well. The story follows Mara as she tries to work out what is happening to her and what happened the night of the accident.

As a character Mara is likeable although at times I didn’t understand her. I felt very sad for her and I could feel how she was struggling to cope but I didn’t feel drawn to her story.

Noah is the bad boy: he is the womanizer who has broken the hearts of most of the female population at the high school, he is rich, lazy and full of sarcasm. Mara is warned to stay away from him but she just can’t help but feel an attraction to him. One of the things that I did like was that the majority of the time Mara had a great comeback to anything that Noah said.

I did like the twist and cliff-hanger at the end of the story. I was surprised by it. I will read the sequel, the story was quite intriguing and I would like to see what happens next. It was just that at times I found the novel confusing. It’s quite a bizzare novel that I did enjoy but wasn’t overly excited about. It just didn’t captivate me.

3/5

*Thank you to Simon and Schuster Australia for providing me with a copy of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer to review.

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

