Valentine’s Day Book Love #1

Books I Have Fallen In Love With…

To start the Valentine’s Day Book Love event, I thought I would talk about two book series’ that I absolutely love. These books I absolutely adore and they will forever hold a special place in my heart.

The first book series is The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer.

Now, I know that not everyone loves or even likes these books and that is okay; we all love and like different things. To me, Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn are just perfect and I love and adore each book. I was first introduced to Twilight by my friend Sarah, who told me that she had just read a really good book called Twilight. I went to my local bookshop, found it there on the shelf with it’s beautiful cover staring back at me and bought a copy.

I started reading it and I could not put it down. I was swept away by Bella’s story and of course by Edward. I loved everything about Twilight: the writing, the story, the characters. I loved the intense attraction between Bella and Edward, the romantic tension, the mystery, the suspense, the action – I loved it all.

The book captivated me from beginning to end. Every week, for 3 weeks, I went back to the bookshop and bought the next book in the series and, just like Twilight, each book had me captivated. When I finished reading the series, I realised that I had just fallen in love with four books and not only that, I had developed a character crush on Edward Cullen.

I love Edward. I think he is the perfect gentleman. He is kind, loving, protective, loyal, and he just adores and loves Bella so so much; he would do anything for her. He is the type of man who would always take his coat off to give to the woman he loves if she felt cold, the type of man who would always hold the door open for a woman, the type of man that would give up his seat on a train or bus to someone who needed the seat more than him. He is protective of his family and I love that about him. He is a true gentleman, as well a devoted husband and father.

Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn re-ignited my love of reading. As a child I always had a book in my hand, yet during high-school I somehow lost my love of reading. Then I read Twilight and my love of books and reading was back. These books changed my life, they gave me back my passion for reading and are one of the reasons why I am now a book blogger. I am today and forever will be, a proud Twilighter. Thank you Stephenie Meyer for your beautiful words, your beautiful characters, and your beautiful story.

The second book series that I absolutely love is The Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead.

Wow, these books are amazing. I can’t believe that I had Vampire Academy sitting on my shelf for close to two years before I read it (silly me). I had actually bought Vampire Academy, Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, and Blood Promise and all were sitting on my book-shelf waiting to be read. Then one day I picked up Vampire Academy and the love affair began. After finishing it I remember saying to myself – why on earth did you wait so long to read this book?

I was hooked from the very first page. I loved the world that Richelle Mead created.

I eagerly read the next books Frostbite and Shadow Kiss and then it was time to read Blood Promise. Wow, Blood Promise – I devoured it in 7 hours. I could not put it down. I bawled my eyes out crying over Dimitri and feeling heartbroken for Rose. I was crying so much that my tears actually dripped onto the pages. Never had I cried so much when reading a novel. I loved Blood Promise so much. I always say that the books that are so emotional are often the best and, oh my, was Blood Promise emotional.

I rushed out and bought the next book in the series – Spirit Bound, as I had to know what happened next. I didn’t think my heart could break for Rose anymore, but it did. Richelle Mead sure does know how to write suspense, twists, and cliffhangers.

I’m not going to mention Last Sacrifice because…well…I haven’t read it yet. lol I don’t want the series to be over. I know that there is Bloodlines but it isn’t Rose and Dimitri focused, so I have been holding off reading Last Sacrifice. The fact that I haven’t read it yet might sound strange to a lot of people but I’m just not ready for that series to be over. I will get there…eventually.

There are so many things that I love about the Vampire Academy series but I’m going to focus on just one: Dimitri Belikov (need I say more?).

Dimitri Belikov *sigh* He is my second character crush after Edward Cullen.

Dimitri says some of the most romantic lines I think that I have ever read. He is strong, protective, kind, patient, and at times sarcastic (which I love), he is a fierce guardian, and handy with a stake. Also, let’s not forget his leather duster jacket. What’s not to love?

He would do anything to protect Rose and keep her safe and she would do the same for him. I love their connection, how they gain strength from each other and their loyalty.

The motto of Treasured Tales for Young Adults is: An un-read book is like and un-opened treasure chest; you never know if you are about to discover a rare jewel.

The day I opened to page one of Twilight, I discovered one rare jewel and the day I finally grabbed Vampire Academy off my book-shelf, I discovered another. I hope you enjoyed reading about my two very fav book series’ and my character crushes.

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Book Love #1

  1. Twilight was the series that allow me the chance to know my love for books! So thanks to Stephenie Meyer for this wonderful gift! i don’t know where would I be without my books today! And Vampire Academy!! OMG! I’ve read the series like in 10 days! But nothing prepare me for Blood Promise! That book is my favorite of all! I cry so much too!! Richelle Mead is genius!!

  2. VAMPIRE ACADEMY SHOULD BE FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DIMITRI IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH BETTER THAN EDWARD. just saying…

  3. WOW!! didn’t know you were writing about Twilight too!! >.<
    TWILIGHTFOREVER!
    I enjoyed Vampire Academy…but didn't fall in love as I thought I would…anyway!
    YEY for book loveeeeee!!!

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

