Review: Darkness by Joann I. Martin Sowles

Darkness by Joann I. Martin Sowles (The Brookehaven Vampires #2)

Book description (from Goodreads) –

Not long ago, Laney Alexander was living a carefree life, that is, until she was thrown into a world full of creatures only the imagination thought possible. Now, after surviving a terrifying night, Laney and Oliver are lying low at Julz’s place, relieved to be in each other’s arms once again. But fate seems to have other plans…

Julz is not happy to have visitors in her home and emotions run high. Laney is pushed to her limits as she watches Carter fight for his life and her relationship with Oliver becomes strained as she discovers secrets about Julz that could tear them apart.

As she reaches her boiling point, disaster strikes and her life is shattered. Laney must come to terms with what has unfolded. Will she lose her way and let the darkness consume her or will she find her light in Oliver?

Secrets will be revealed.

Hearts will be broken.

Lives will be lost.

Darkness will fall.

Review

After the emotional and frightening events of the past few days, Laney and Oliver head to Julz’s house to recuperate.  Julz is unhappy about her new house guests, and is especially unwelcoming towards Laney.  Matters become even worse when Oliver informs Julz that he wants her to tell Laney her story.  Laney is finally going to get answers about the mysterious Julz, but will she be able to accept what Julz tells her?

With everyone on edge, Laney finds comfort in Oliver – that is until a tragedy occurs, and Laney’s life is changed forever.  Pulling away from Oliver, Laney begins to feel empty, confused and alone.  Will she turn to Oliver for the comfort that she used to feel, or is the distance that is growing between them about to become to great to repair?

~*~

I loved this novel.  I didn’t want it to end.  Darkness, starts right where the first novel, Laney, ended.  The transition from Laney to Darkness, was so smoothly done, that it felt like I was reading another chapter in Laney.

When I think of the events that took place in Darkness, the first word that comes to mind is emotional.  This novel is quite emotional, as the main character, Laney, experiences a whirlwind of emotions: fear, love, anger, heart-break and grief.

She learns what it would be like to be part of a vampire family; she learns more about her friends; and she learns more about Oliver.  Laney has so much information to process, that at times it becomes overwhelming for her.

Julz causes Laney a great deal of stress.  When a secret of Julz’s is revealed, I was in complete shock; it was something I never saw coming.  I love the twists and turns that author, Joann I. Martin Sowles creates.  I have said this before: one of the things that I love about Joann’s writing is how she scatters little clues throughout her novels.  A character will start to say something then stop, or get interrupted, and I will be left thinking: does that mean what I think it means; could it be; is that possible?  I enjoy how Joann writes in a way that lets the reader use their imagination to create theories and possibilities.

I felt that it was very easy to understand Laney.  She is going through so much, and is at times overwhelmed, confused and sad.  I could understand why she was feeling the way she was, and why she made the choices that she did.  She pulls away from Oliver in this novel and I can understand why she did.

Oliver – Oliver was a bit of a mystery in Darkness, and I really liked that.  A different side to him is revealed, and while I was definitely angry with him at times, I enjoyed the mystery that surrounded him.  I didn’t know what he was thinking sometimes.

Early on in the story something happens to one of the characters, and I was shocked by Oliver’s response.  I was so caught up in the story that I wanted to jump into the novel and slap some sense into him.

I loved the presence of Carter in this novel.  I don’t want to say too much about him, as I don’t want to give anything away.  I’ll just say that more is revealed about Carter and his family. I did miss the friendship between Kiera and Laney a little, but I understood why Kiera was not as present in Darkness, as she was in this first novel, Laney.  Laney spends the majority of her time at Julz’s home – a place that Kiera cannot be.  Laney is discovering more about life with vampires, and deciding if that is the life she truly wants, and at the moment these are topics that she can’t discuss with Kiera.

I’m also a little suspicious of Hayden.  I don’t know if I completely trust her.  A few times I thought to myself: why did she do that?  I also have a feeling that Oliver may be hiding something from Laney.  I just don’t know what it could possibly be.  I can’t wait to read the next installment in The Brookehaven Vampires series.

Friendship, love, heart-break, mystery and romance collide in Darkness, creating a memorable and captivating story.  With so many unexpected moments, I was eagerly turning the pages, wanting to  know what would happen next. A fantastic novel.

4.5/5

*Thank you to Joann I. Martin Sowles for providing me with a copy of Darkness to review.

9 thoughts on “Review: Darkness by Joann I. Martin Sowles

  1. I have heard many good things about the Brookehaven Series. I have not read them yet but they are definitely going on my TBR list. BTW, it is your review that makes me want to read this series even more. Thank you.

  2. Grrr we saw another side of Oliver in this book! I just hope he still keeps some of the personality we’ve grown to love 😉

  3. That is an awesome review. Totally agree with you,it is an awesome series that definitely keeps you guess what is gonna come next and wanting to keep reading to see what the secrets are!Can’t wait for a third book to come out!

  4. I’ve been dying to read the Brookehaven books T_T I screamed when I saw the second one was coming soon!!
    I’m so intrigued!!! *-*

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

