Author Guest Post: Eve Marie Mont (Character Interview: Gray Newman)

Today, I would like to welcome Eve Marie Mont, author of A Breath of Eyre, to Treasured Tales for Young Adults.  Today, in her guest post, Eve is sharing a character interview with Gray Newman, one of the characters from Eve’s soon to be released novel, A Breath of Eyre.

**********

~ Guest Post ~

First of all, thanks so much for having me on the blog! When Alishia asked me for a guest post, I decided to interview one of the characters from my upcoming YA debut, A Breath of Eyre. His name is Gray Newman, and while he’s a thoroughly modern guy, he has several things in common with the brooding heroes from those nineteenth century novels my protagonist, Emma, loves. Emma and Gray have known each other since they were little, but now that they’re teenagers, they’re not quite sure how they feel about each other. Gray has a reputation as a party animal, whereas Emma’s more shy and bookish. But you know what they say about opposites attracting!

 ~ Character Interview ~

EM: So, tell us a little about yourself.

GN: Well, I’m eighteen. I’m a lifeguard. I’m on the swim team at school.

EM: And do you go to school with Emma?

GN: No, she goes to Lockwood Prep, the all-girls school, and I go to Braeburn Academy about a mile from there. It’s this hippie alternative school my parents sent me to a few years ago when I got depressed. They thought it might help me “come to terms” with my past. Just to give you an idea how lame it is, we have harmonic huddles every week where we sit around in a drum circle and bare our feelings. It’s torture. I try to act mysterious and disturbed so I won’t have to talk.

EM: You prefer sitting alone and brooding?

GN: No, I prefer swimming. Head under water; no talking, no thinking.

EM: So you’re the strong silent type.

GN: I guess so.

EM: Funny, because I heard stories that you used to be a party animal. Hot lifeguard making the moves on the summer girls?

GN: I’m over summer girls. All they care about is how they look in a bikini, and they want you to remind them of it every five seconds. Don’t get me wrong, I like a girl in a bikini. It’s just, I’m looking for something more than that.

EM: And what about the partying?

GN: Let’s just say the party’s over for me. Can we change the subject, please?

EM: Sure. Do you have a girlfriend?

GN: Wow, you’re direct.

EM: Well, do you? (waits in vain) At least tell me if you have a crush on anyone.

GN: Alright, yeah. I have a crush. Happy?

EM: Not yet. Can you tell us a little about her?

GN: I’ve known her forever, but I just realized a little while ago how cool she is. She’s super smart and she’s pretty in this quiet way that gets more obvious every time I see her. And she’s got these incredible, deep brown eyes. I swear they can see right through me.

EM: And what do they see?

GN: I don’t know. Obviously not the same thing I see, otherwise she’d be running in the opposite direction.

EM: Why don’t you tell her how you feel?

GN: Cause it’s not going to happen between us.

EM: Why not?

GN: Trust me. She wouldn’t want to be with me anyway. Not once she really got to know me.

EM: Shouldn’t you let her decide that?

GN: Maybe. (smiles shyly)

And on that note, I conclude my interview with Gray Newman. I have to admit, I’ve developed a bit of a crush on him myself.

~*~

Synopsis of A Breath of Eyre:

Emma Townsend has always believed in stories—the ones she reads voraciously, and the ones she creates in her head. Perhaps it’s because she feels like an outsider at her exclusive prep school, or because her stepmother doesn’t come close to filling the void left by her mother’s death. And her only romantic prospect—apart from a crush on her English teacher—is Gray Newman, a long-time friend who just adds to Emma’s confusion. But escape soon arrives in an old leather-bound copy of Jane Eyre

Reading of Jane’s isolation sparks a deep sense of kinship. Then fate takes things a leap further when a lightning storm catapults Emma right into Jane’s body and her nineteenth-century world. As governess at Thornfield, Emma has a sense of belonging she’s never known—and an attraction to the brooding Mr. Rochester. Now, moving between her two realities and uncovering secrets in both, Emma must decide whether her destiny lies in the pages of Jane’s story, or in the unwritten chapters of her own…

**********

Thank you for the guest post Eve. I love the synopsis of this book. I’m really looking forward to reading it.  I loved Gray’s answers in the interview. Doesn’t he just sound so gorgeous? Are you looking forward to meeting Gray when A Breath of Eyre is released on the 27th March 2012?

~*~

Author bio:

As a child, Eve was a tomboy/animal lover/aspiring actress who staged lip-synched productions of her favorite musicals since she couldn’t sing. Her love for athletics and animals remained, but the acting bug was soon replaced by the writing bug. In fourth grade, she wrote her first chapter book entitled, The Only Tomboy in My Class, and she was hooked.

Now Eve teaches high school English and Creative Writing in the Philadelphia suburbs and sponsors her school’s literary magazine. When not grading papers or writing, Eve can be found watching the Phillies with her husband, playing with her shelter pup, or daydreaming about her next story.

~*~

More information about A Breath of Eyre and Eve Marie Mont:

goodreads ~ website ~ blog ~ facebook ~ twitter

~*~

 

2 thoughts on “Author Guest Post: Eve Marie Mont (Character Interview: Gray Newman)

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

