Susane Colasanti shares her inspiration for writing, Keep Holding On

Book description –

Chew.
Swallow.
Chew.
Swallow.
Don’t look up.

Lunch is the worst, but there’s no safe place at school for Noelle. Keeping her mortifying home life a secret and trying to ignore the kids who make her life miserable are Noelle’s survival strategies. Her emotionally distant boyfriend, Matt, isn’t the one she really wants to be with. But there’s no way she could ever be with Julian Porter.

When Julian starts talking to her, Noelle is terrified. It seems safer to stay with Matt than risk a broken heart. But when the bullying of a friend goes too far, Noelle realizes it’s time to stand up for herself—and for everything that makes her keep holding on.

To be released: 14th June 2012

~*~

Susane Colasanti shares her inspiration for writing Keep Holding On:

This one is a bit different for me. The story involves soul mates as usual, but Keep Holding On focuses on the consequences of bullying. So it has a more serious tone than my other books. This story was inspired by my own experiences with bullying. I was a total outsider in junior high and high school. I wrote about some really embarrassing things that I would have been mortified to admit back then. Some of the things that happened to me were so humiliating that I’ve only recently started talking about them to friends who’ve known me for many years.

The thing is, I’m not embarrassed anymore. If those things happened to me, they’re happening to other people right now. Which means it’s time to speak up.

I know how it feels to be relentlessly tormented. I know how it feels to constantly be anxious at school and at home, to feel like you’ll never fit in, like no one will ever understand you. And like you will never find someone who will love you. Writing Keep Holding On was my way of turning a negative experience into something positive.

I want this book to reach out to teens in need. I want this book to help people feel less alone. If it does, then everything I endured will have been worth it.

**********

The book description and Susane’s inspiration for writing Keep Holding On can be found on Susane’s website.  Susane has very kindly allowed me to re-post them here.  Thank you Susane.

I’m sure that many people reading this are currently and/or have been bullied, or know someone that is/has been bullied.  Bulling is a very serious matter and can have devastating and tragic consequences.  I think the topic of bullying is one that needs to be discussed more – it needs more awareness.  I’m so glad that Susane Colasanti has written a novel that shows the effects of bullying.  I think that this is a great way to make teens and young adults, and even adults, more aware about the consequences of being bullied.

~*~

Author bio:  

Susane Colasanti is the author of When It Happens, Take Me There, Waiting for You, Something Like Fate, and So Much Closer. She has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Pennsylvania and a master’s degree from New York University.

Before becoming a full-time author, Susane was a high school science teacher for almost ten years.

As a teenage Jersey girl, she felt like her true home was across the water in New York City. She now lives in the West Village.

~*~

More information about Susane Colasanti:

goodreads ~ website ~ blog ~ facebook ~ twitter

2 thoughts on “Susane Colasanti shares her inspiration for writing, Keep Holding On

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

