(Blogoversary Celebration) Author Interview: Wendy Higgins

Hi everyone, I hope you are enjoying the blogoversary celebrations. Today, the lovely Wendy Higgins, author of the newly released novel, Sweet Evil, has stopped by the blog for an interview. Welcome to Treasured Tales, Wendy.  😀

**********

Hi Wendy, Thank you for visiting Treasured Tales for Young Adults, as part of its one year blogoversary.
Would you tell us a little about yourself?

Thanks for having me, Ali! Well, there’s not much to tell. I’ve always loved to write. I taught high school English for a couple years before I became a mom and we decided I’d stay home. And then a couple years ago I got restless and wrote my first book! I live in Virginia with my veterinarian husband, 5-year-old daughter, and 3-year-old son.

Do you have a favourite time of day when you prefer to write?

Not particularly. I love to write at anytime of day, as long as it’s quiet and I’m alone. I do my best writing sitting in my bed. 🙂

What are you currently reading?

I’m about to start Froi of the Exiles – a fantasy. I recently finished Shatter Me and loved it.

If you were to collaborate on a novel, with any author of your choosing, who would you choose and why?

Ooh, this is a good question, and hard! I really don’t know if I’d be any good in a collab because I’m such a panster. But it would be a dream-come-true to work with Richelle Mead.

The main characters in your novel Sweet Evil, Anna and Kaidan – what would you say are their strengths and weaknesses?
As far as personality traits, I’d say Kai’s weaknesses are his cockiness and his evasiveness when it comes to how he feels. For Anna it’s her naiveté and her sensitivity.

Which of your characters intrigues you the most?

Kaidan, and then Kopano. While Anna reads like an open book, there’s so much under the surface of the K’s that’s not yet been revealed.

How would you describe Jay (Anna’s best friend) in five words or less?

Crazy, loyal, talented, funny, real.

Are there any particular songs that you feel express a certain scene in your novel, Sweet Evil?

Oh, yes! The whole playlist can be downloaded on the Sweet Evil Amazon page. 🙂 But there is a scene on the roadtrip when Kaidan tries to instill a “healthy fear” into Anna by giving her a glimpse into his nature and his “job.” The song that makes me think of that scene is “Break Your Heart” by Taio Cruz.

What are you working on at the moment, and is there anything about it you can share with us?

I’ve finished the first draft of the sequel, Sweet Hope, and it’s under consideration with the publishers right now. I’m about to start on rewrites/revisions. I can tell you that we get to meet more Neph and watch Anna grow-up a lot.

Thank you for the interview Wendy.

You’re welcome! Happy blogoversary!

**********

Thank you so much for being a part of Treasured Tales for Young Adults’ blogoversary celebration Wendy.  It is greatly appreciated.

~*~

Have you read Wendy’s novel, Sweet Evil?  Is it on your ‘tbr’ list?

~*~

More information about Sweet Evil and author Wendy Higgins:

goodreads ~ facebook ~ blog ~ twitter

For a list of all the prizes that you could win during Treasured Tales for Young Adults’ blogoversary celebration, just click on the picture above.

11 thoughts on “(Blogoversary Celebration) Author Interview: Wendy Higgins

  1. OH MY GOD!!! You got the chance to interview her T_T
    You’re so lucky!! I’m DYING to get Sweet Evil!!! I think it’s somehow unhealthy :/
    Anyway.
    lol I think I’ll like Anna’s best friend 😄 And will try to check out the books playlist 😄

  2. I just received Sweet Evil in the mail this week. Can’t wait to read it! I tried to access the Sweet Evil playlist pdf on amazon but it wasn’t working for me for some reason.
    Thanks for the fun interview & happy blogoversary!

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

