(Blogoversary Celebration) Author Interview: Jenn Sterling

Hi everyone. I hope you are enjoying the blogoversary celebrations. To start week two of the celebrations, author Jenn Sterling has stopped by with an interview.  She is the author of the beautiful novels In Dreams and Chance Encounters.  Welcome to Treasured Tales Jenn. 😀

**********

Hi Jenn.  Thank you for visiting Treasured Tales for Young Adults to help celebrate its one year blogoversary.

Thanks for having me!

Would you tell us a little about yourself?

Um, my name is Jenn… I live in California… I act like a child and I’m currently obsessed with my new yellow lab, Pete. lol

Do you have a favourite place where you like to write?

I write wherever I’m most comfortable that day. Sometimes I’m on the couch curled up in a ball. Sometimes I’m sitting in my window seat in my bedroom. And other times I’m either on a bean bag on the floor, or sitting in the back of my car waiting for my son’s baseball practice to end! lol

What are you reading at the moment?

I just started the follow up book to Wander Dust (by Michelle Warren)… she sent me an advance copy to read. I’m so freaking excited, but I’ve been so busy, that I’ve barely read 2 pages!!!! I’ve been a bad author friend!

What was your favourite novel as a child, and has it inspired or influenced the way you write?

My favorite books as a kid aren’t so much the stories that they were, as much as the memories associated with them. You know what I mean? Like there was this really old book called Tajer Tales… and my mom used to read it to me all the time. I just remember wanting her to read me that story over and over again. How could you not love lines like this: The whimsical Tajar is something like a tiger, something like a jaguar, and something like a badger. He loves to dance in the moonlight, but must not be seen by the campers, because “if you see him once, you would forget what he looked like, but if you should see him twice you would forget to forget what he looked like and that would be quite fatal.” 🙂

The covers of your novels – In Dreams and Chance Encounters – are so beautiful. The cover photos are photographed by you – what factors do you take into consideration when deciding on the cover photography?

Thank you so much! I love them!!!! And I have to send a HUGE thanks to my designer, Michelle Preast. My covers would be nowhere near as eye-catchingly beautiful as they are without her talent. I obviously think about the overall story I’m writing. And then I literally think about what I’d like to see on the cover- what elements I want to incorporate. Sometimes I’ll look at other photographer’s work that I admire for inspiration. And then I try to actually make what I see in my head, come to life in my camera. And then work on my computer. It’s an adventure, that’s for sure. lol

Both In Dreams and Chance Encounters are stories of love, friendship and soulmates – how would you define the term soulmates?

Personally, I feel like a romantic soulmate (because I think we have soulmates in the form of best friends, siblings, kids) is literally someone that is connected to you above all others. A soulmate makes you feel things you can’t explain. You’re drawn to them in ways that don’t make sense. A soulmate is deeper than a physical attraction…it goes way beyond what can be seen with your eyes… it’s a very literal connection with another soul that can’t be put into words. I sound crazy, huh?

While reading both In Dreams and Chance Encounters, I cried a few times. I was deeply moved by Katherine’s (In Dreams) and Caroline’s (Chance Encounters) stories. Were there any moments while writing their stories that you found yourself becoming a little teary over a scene?

Oh holy crap, are you kidding? I bawled like a freaking baby when I wrote In Dreams!!! You have to understand that I wrote that entire book plugged into my iPod. And I had very specific songs (with lyrics that ripped my heart out) attached to very specific parts of the book- so when I was writing, or rewriting those parts and the music was playing… I was a freaking disaster!!! Plus, that story is so emotional for me to begin with, so I’m easily wrecked when I write it. lol

I cried a couple of times during CE too- I think it was Jackson’s letter that hurt my heart my most.

What do you admire the most about Katherine?  And what do you admire the most about Caroline?

*smiling* For Katherine, I admire that she left only place she’d ever known and moved across the country to go to college. I truly wish I’d done that. I also love how she was so willing to accept everything that happened with Austen. She didn’t question and try to fight off her feelings- she acknowledged them and encouraged them.

And Caroline- hell, I admire what she had to do in order to follow her heart. No decision like that could ever be easy in real life. I know it’s clear when you’re reading the story WHO she should be with- and even if it’s clear in real life, that situation is NEVER easy. I admire that she had the courage to do what she did. Even if it took almost losing everything to figure it out.

Is there a message to your novels – In Dreams and Chance Encounters – that you hope readers embrace?

I do. I really hope that people open their hearts and minds to the idea of soulmates and that kind of unexplainable connection existing. I honestly think the most important thing we can experience in this life is love…

Are you writing a novel at the moment?  And if so, is there anything about it you can share with us?

I am working on the follow up to In Dreams! It’s called Before the Dreams and it takes place during one of the characters past lives. They’re all together- Kylie, Cooper, Austen, Taylor, Danny and Katherine. It’s going to shed so much light onto this groups relationships with one another, that after you read it, you’ll most likely want to read In Dreams again- because everything will make sense in a different way. Or you’ll understand it better. And any unanswered questions you might have had, will be answered.

At least that’s my hope. I could totally screw it all up and then you’ll have to ignore this answer. HA

I’m also working on a witch trilogy, and another book about how things aren’t always what they seem- that one won’t leave my head and I’ve been writing it way more than I should, so we’ll see what comes out first. EEEK! 🙂

Thank you for the interview Jenn.

Thank you so much Ali- for always supporting my writing and books! Congratulations and happy one year anniversary!

**********

Love your answers Jenn.  I believe in soulmates too.

~*~

I am a big fan of Jenn’s writing, and I’m looking forward to reading Before the Dreams. I’m also really excited about the witch trilogy she mentioned.

Have you read In Dreams and/or Chance Encounters?  I highly recommend them.  So beautiful.

~*~

More information about Jenn Sterling and her novels:

goodreads ~ blog ~ facebook

5 thoughts on “(Blogoversary Celebration) Author Interview: Jenn Sterling

  1. BCE

    I LOVE how she described what a soulmate is 😀
    I think both her books would be exactly my kind of read 😀
    As for her taking the pictures for her book covers? AMAZING!
    >.< lol hope BOTH the 'Witches' book and the follow up on her 'In Dreams' books come out at the same time hehehehe that way…we won't wait 😉

    Thanks for the interview 😀

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

