(Blogoversary Celebration) Author Interview: Tom Tancin + book giveaway

Hi everyone. Today, Tom Tancin, author of the amazing Hippocampus, has stopped by the blog for an interview. Welcome to Treasured Tales for Young Adults, Tom.

**********

Hi Tom, Thank you for visiting Treasured Tales for Young Adults, to help celebrate its one year blogoversary.

Happy Blogoversary!  Thank you for interviewing me and for featuring Hippocampus.

Would you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m 28 years old and I’ve been writing for 15 years.  I’m the author of 8 books and I’m writing number 9.  I teach 7th grade science and have a degree in secondary education with a biology concentration.  I love to read YA fiction (especially fantasy/dystopian). I love to travel (and would like to do more traveling).  My favorite color is blue (which is the color that inspires the most creativity).  My favorite season is winter.  My ideal vacation spot would be on a lake surrounded by mountains.

Do you have a favourite place where you like to write?

I mostly write at home but I can write anywhere as long as I have my laptop and writing music playlist.

Who are some of your favourite authors?

Erica Spindler, JK Rowling, and Suzanne Collins.  There are a few that I will probably add after reading a few more of their books—Marie Lu, Jennifer Nielsen, and Veronica Roth.

Your novel, Hippocampus, centres around main character, Trey Atlas, and his discovery that he is destined to rule Atlantis – what attracted you to writing about the myth of Atlantis?

I always had a fascination with Atlantis.  Did it exist?  Was it advanced?  What were the Atlanteans like?  Why did it disappear?  Everything about the island had my interest so I wanted to write a story about it.  It took me many years but I finally came up with a story about Atlantis I felt was worth telling.

Are there any other myths and/or legends that interest you?

I love Greek mythology.  Egyptian mythology also interests me but I don’t know as much about it.  I have an interest in the Gardens of Babylon (even though they’re not a myth).  And there are other lost civilizations that I’m keeping in mind for future books/series.

What do you feel is the biggest lesson that Trey learns in Hippocampus?

Trey realizes that there’s more to life than what he thought and that he can’t remain wrapped in the bubble of his perfect world forever.  He finds out that you can’t avoid responsibility and that things don’t always work out as planned.  The goal is for him to learn even more throughout the series, The Atlantis Revolution.  He’ll learn things like how to deal with responsibility, cope with loss, and manage life when things don’t go as planned.

How would you describe the characters, Oaren and Aerian, each in five words or less?

This is a tough question.  I know I’m going to be stuck thinking of one word or I’ll think of a better one later.

Oaren—loyal, hard-working, caring, patriotic, knowledgeable
Aerian—brave, selfless, damaged, mysterious, self-restraining

If you were to write a novella about one of the secondary characters from Hippocampus, who would you choose and why?

I have short stories/novellas about some of the secondary characters in my mind.  There are a few I want to write about, mainly because I want to explore their back-stories.  I definitely want to write one about Jocasta because her character, though evil, has to have an intriguing history.  What made her so ruthless?  What drives her to destroy Atlantis and all it stands for?  I’m also considering a prequel novella about Aerian and the royal family that leads up to the opening of Hippocampus.  And I wouldn’t rule out novellas or short about Troy or Ries because it could be fun to find out what their past holds.

Is there anything you can share with us about Echinodea, book two in the Atlantis Revolution series?

Echinodea follows Trey and his royal court as they race Jocasta and the Knights of the Abyss to the Echinodea—a magical lantern that if lit would reveal Atlantis to the world.  Echinodea gives the reader more information about the history of Atlantis.  There’s also a focus on how Trey is dealing with his new responsibilities and how the Atlanteans are responding to Trey as the new Prince.  And maybe most intriguing is the fact that it explores Trey’s connection to Atlantis, including revealing his biological family.

Thank you for the interview Tom.

Thank you for the opportunity to share Hippocampus with your followers!

**********

How awesome were Tom’s answers? I love stories about myths and legends, and I very much enjoyed reading Trey’s story.

~*~

Do you have a favourite myth or legend?

~*~

More information about the Atlantis Revolution series and Tom Tancin:

goodreads ~ facebook ~ blog ~ twitter

 

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

