(Blogoversary Celebration) Author Interview: Sarah Alderson

Hi all, I hope you are enjoying the blogoversary celebration. Today, I am super excited to announce that Sarah Alderson, author of the fabulous novels, Hunting Lila (Lila #1), Fated, and Catching Suki (Lila #0.5 [novella]), has stopped by the blog for an interview.

**********

Hi Sarah, Thank you for visiting Treasured Tales for Young Adults, as part of its one year blogoversary celebration.

Would you tell us a little about yourself?

I am originally from London but I now live in Bali in Indonesia because it’s sunnier here and there are lots of coconuts.

I only started writing three years ago and in that time I’ve written 9 books.

I have a five-year old daughter who today went to school (a bamboo school in the jungle) dressed as a parrot.

I love coffee and cake and Donald Draper and reading books and Lainey Gossip and Topshop and I do pilates three times a week!

Do you have a favourite place where you like to write?

I can write anywhere so long as I have my headphones and music. Favourite places include my studio at home in Bali overlooking the rice paddies and in any café that serves cake and good coffee.

Who are some of your favourite authors?

I love David Mitchell, Melina Marchetta, Patrick de Witt, Simone Elkeles and John Green.

What is your favourite part of being an author and what do you find the most rewarding?

Wow. Lots of favourite parts. I love all the tweeting and Facebooking with fans. That makes my day. I also just love being able to spend so much time with my imagination running wild. It’s awesome to be able to make a living from the stuff that comes out of my head! I still can’t believe I get paid for that.

You have travelled to many different places all over the world – were there any places in particular that you absolutely adored and would love to visit again?

My two favourite places in the world are India and California, and I want to spend a lot more time discovering both. But there are lots of places I haven’t yet been to that I’m dying to visit – like Canada and French Polynesia, Japan & Tasmania!

Sarah, I have a few Hunting Lila questions for you:

The main character, Lila, is such a sweetheart. What quality of hers do you love the most?

I love her humour. She’s very funny.

How would you describe Alex in one sentence?

Intelligent, inscrutable, calm and incredibly hot.

What qualities do Lila and Alex bring out in each other?

I think Alex helps to lessen Lila’s impulsiveness and calm her down and Lila brings out Alex’s protectiveness and romantic nature.

Is there anything you can share with us about Losing Lila, the sequel to Hunting Lila?

I just finished proof-reading it! It’s non-stop action from the get-go and starts in Mexico City. All the old characters are back and there’s lots of sadness and loss and tension and betrayal so I hope people will really enjoy it. Oh, and also Alex has his top off a LOT in the first ten pages alone. People lusting after an Alex fix aren’t going to be disappointed.

Sarah, I now have a few Fated questions for you:

How would you describe Evie and Lucas, each in 5 words or less?

Evie: feisty, wounded, fierce, a little bit broken

Lucas: passionate, focused, revenge-fuelled, noble, HOT

What impact does Evie have on Lucas and vice versa?

Evie makes Lucas contemplate his choices and the notion of fate and who we are born to be.

She softens him I think and also brings out his noble qualities.

Lucas makes Evie believe in herself. He makes her feel unafraid.

What would you say is the one thing that Evie must never forget?

To trust her instincts.

Is there anything you can share with us about the sequel to Fated?

My favourite character ever is in the sequel. He’s called Cyrus and I love him. He’s a rogue Hunter and gets all the best lines. Also the sequel is way steamier and a whole lot sadder. I’m not sure the ending will make people happy. But that’s OK. I’ve written a third book too.

One final question.

What are you working on at the moment?

Ahhh good question! I’m working on a ridiculous number of projects. I’m finishing one adult chick lit type book which I’m writing in collaboration with another author. When I write it I have to stop for giggle breaks. It’s been so much fun.

I’m also nearly finished another adult book which is quite personal to me. It’s fiction and set in London and South Africa in the 1980s. It’s essentially a love story and is about love and loss and memories, and how they define us. The main character is based loosely on someone I know and his life during Apartheid. It’s harder to write than any other book I’ve written because it’s jumping between the past and the present.

On top of that I have just finished my next YA book which I am really excited about. There will be news on that one shortly but prepare yourself for another exceedingly hot male character.

Thank you for the interview Sarah.

~*~

I love Sarah’s answers. I’m such a huge fan of her novels Hunting Lila, Catching Suki, and Fated. I highly recommend them.

Have you read one or all of Sarah’s novels? Are you counting down the days until the release of Losing Lila? I know I am. 😀 I’m also extremely excited for the sequel to Fated.

~*~

More information about Sarah Alderson and her novels:

website/blog ~ goodreads ~ twitter

5 thoughts on “(Blogoversary Celebration) Author Interview: Sarah Alderson

  1. I can believe I just met your blog. I love it!!! Can’t wait to read Hunting Lila, it sounds really amazing!!! I loved Sarah! Thanks for the interview!! (BCE)

  2. I’m definitely counting down to Losing Lila! ❤

    Oh man, reading the interview is increasing my craving for Alex… And knowing that he will be topless for 10 pages isn't helping at all. *pouts* I'll have to wait for August to satisfy whatever I'm feeling right now.

    Thanks for the wonderful interview! It's a brilliant surprise! ❤

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

