(Blogoversary Celebration) Character Interview: Julia (from Stained by Ella James)

Hi all. Today, I have an amazing character interview to share with you – Julia from the Stained series. The Stained series is written by Ella James, and book one and two in the series – Stained and Stolen – are currently available, with book three, Chosen, to be released soon.

A big thank you to Ella James, for sharing Julia with Treasured Tales, and a big thank you to Julia for the interview.

**********

Hi Julia, Welcome to Treasured Tales for Young Adults.

Would you tell us a little about yourself?

“Um, sure. I’m seventeen…”

Julia glances down at her lap, where she is playing with her hands. Her fingernails glitter, having been painted with Meredith’s sparkly nail polish—or the Swiss version of it. She’s sitting on a fluffy beige comforter atop a four-post king-sized bed in a room the size of a department store showroom; the Alps are visible out the curtainless windows, and a roaring fire snaps in the fireplace.

“I’m seventeen… My birthday is May third. I’m from Memphis. Kind of.” She smirks, and her face hardens into an expression that’s difficult to read. “I’ve had two sets of parents. They’re both dead now. Lucky for me, I’m pretty good at being an orphan.”

She lifts her arms and waves around the suite. “Now I’m in Switzerland—hiding. And also trying to figure out why—”

A rustling sound can be heard outside the door. Julia crosses her arms, rolls her eyes, and smiles a little indulgently. “Now I’m in Switzerland with my boyfriend. Who I’m sorry to say, does not understand the meaning of privacy.” She glances once more at the door, then sighs, like she knows Cayne has no intention of leaving his post in the hallway. “What’s your next question?”

You first met Cayne when he crashed through the roof of the warehouse where you were staying – what went through your mind when you first saw Cayne?

“Hmm. I guess mainly ‘holy crap.’ Then—” she smiles, a little naughty— “I thought ‘holy hot guy.’ And then I think I made my nose bleed healing him.” She looks briefly away, her eyes flitting out the window, at the slopes, and then back at Alishia. “And then he told me what my stain meant.”

The more time that you and Cayne spend together, the closer you two are becoming – how would you describe your feelings towards Cayne?

Julia laughs, definitely an awkward sound, and glances at the door. Then she glances around the room and hops off the bed, lunging for a remote resting atop a claw-footed coffee table. She points it at an enormous flat-screen and flips through a few channels until she gets to one with a blue background and little music notes jumping across the screen; classical music flows from speakers in the ceiling. She cranks the volume up, then arches both of her dark brows and grins. “I like him.” Her grin grows wider. “A lot.”

Do you completely trust Cayne?

The music is still loud, Brian Crain’s Song for Sienna playing loudly. Julia glances, again, at the door. When she looks at Alishia, her face is tense. “That’s kind of a hard question.” Her mouth flattens unhappily, and for a few seconds it doesn’t seem like she’s going to answer. Then she sinks back in the fluffy bedding and murmurs, “Yes. Maybe I shouldn’t, but I do. I’ve always trusted him. Which is why I think I got so upset at the Chosen compound. I can’t be around him and not trust him…so I was worried maybe I couldn’t be around him at all.” She shrugs, as if to say that’s over now. “He’s been honest with me, and that’s all I can go on.”

You have an ability to heal people – would you tell us a little about your ability?

Rolling her eyes again, she nods at the door and lowers the volume of the music. “Mr. Paranoid,” she whispers. And, louder: “How ya doing out there, Cayne?” A soft grunt comes from the other side of the door, and Julia smiles, then turns her attention back to Alishia. “I see people’s auras. Kind of like a watercolor painting with the colors all blended together and floating around them like…like a full-body halo or something. The colors are a mixture of how they feel at the moment and how they are. Like, their personality. If they’re hurt, there’s this chain around their bodies…and it has knots in it. At least they look like knots to me. If I think about what I want to fix I can heal them and the knots will go away. Sometimes I get them in my own aura after that.”

Half-demon Samyaza killed your foster parents and is now hunting you – what is the first word that comes to mind when you think of Samyaza?

Julia’s eyes widen and her face stretches in surprise. Then she narrows her eyes, smiles a little smile, and says, “Used to be terrifying. But not anymore.” When Alishia asks her what that means, she mimes zipping her lips.

What are you most afraid of?

“Right now? The Three. I don’t know anything about them…so my mind is just filling in all the pieces.”

What is your greatest wish for the future?

Julia crosses her legs and looks, once more, over at the door. “One time…in a vision I had, I ‘dreamed’ of a picnic in a backyard…” She rubs the top of the duvet with her palm, and says, thoughtfully, “I think I want that. I don’t like being a teenager. I want to be older…” her voice quivers, just a little, and she swallows. “I want to be with Cayne doing something that’s just…normal. And at night we can go flying.” Suddenly she’s wiping her eyes, sniffing, and apologizing. “I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I guess I just feel like…everything’s been taken from me.” She rolls her eyes at herself. “Stolen, you might say. And now, things with the Three…. I feel like I’ll never have a regular life. All this Chosen stuff… It’s just bullshit.”

Thank you for the interview Julia, and for helping to celebrate Treasured Tales for Young Adults’ one year blogoversary.

 **********

Have you read Stained? Has Cayne stolen your heart?

~*~

More information about the Stained series and Ella James:

goodreads ~ facebook ~ blog ~ twitter

2 thoughts on “(Blogoversary Celebration) Character Interview: Julia (from Stained by Ella James)

  1. Hi Julia! She seems a great character. I love her ability but I don’t think I would ever want to have it.
    Thank you for the giveaway!

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

