Author Guest Post: Wynne Channing

Hello everyone. *waves hello* Today, the lovely Wynne Channing, author of the newly released novel What Kills Me, has stopped by Treasured Tales with an awesome guest post. Thanks for visiting Treasured Tales for Young Adults, Wynne. 😀

**********

I’m thrilled to be featured as a guest today on Treasured Tales. Thanks so much Alishia for the opportunity!

My debut novel launched on June 15 and though they’re not my target readers, I was so concerned about what my parents thought of What Kills Me. It’s like I’m 5-years-old again, showing my scribbly painting to my mom in hopes of “Ooooh, that’s nice. You’re the most fabulous artist in the whole entire universe.”

Of course, that’s a bit of an overstatement. And my parents would never say that. They didn’t want me growing up with a big head so they’re pretty blunt. I knew they’d tell me exactly what was on their minds.

So my dad looked at the cover of What Kills Me and asked why are there butterflies exploding from her chest and not blood? I laughed. My dad likes hard-core action movies; naturally, he wants more blood.

I use the imagery of butterflies and moths in my book to suggest transformation, I explained. My heroine, Zee, is a funny, warm but sheltered girl looking for adventure. Falling into a well filled with blood and then having every vampire in the world hunt her to the death, was not what she had in mind. (Maybe just a summer romance or some bungee jumping would have sufficed!)

But aside from the physical changes that she undergoes, she must grow into someone who is brave, someone who can fight.

Sure Dad, I said, I guess blood would’ve been more dramatic. But I assured him that there is lots of action and blood in the pages of What Kills Me.

My mother, on the other hand, preferred the funny bits, the banter between Zee and her reluctant ally Lucas, for example. “Some parts…made me laugh out loud,” she said.

That was all I could ask for — I had brought her some joy.

So now that I have my parent’s approval, the scary part is over. It’s up to my readers now. I’m really, really hoping that they’ll tell me, “Ooooh, that’s nice. You’re the most fabulous writer in the whole entire universe!”

(Message me on Facebook or Twitter and let me know how important your parent’s approval is to you!)

**********

Wasn’t that a lovely post by Wynne?

~*~

More information about What Kills Me and Wynne Channing:

website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ goodreads

~*~

What Kills Me by Wynne Channing

Book description –

An ancient prophecy warns of a girl destined to cause the extinction of the vampire race. So when 17-year-old Axelia falls into a sacred well filled with blood and emerges a vampire, the immortal empire believes she is this legendary destroyer. Hunted by soldiers and mercenaries, Axelia and her reluctant ally, the vampire bladesmith Lucas, must battle to survive.

How will she convince the empire that she is just an innocent teenager-turned bloodsucker and not a creature of destruction? And if she cannot, can a vampire who is afraid of bugs summon the courage to fight a nation of immortals?

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Author Guest Post: Wynne Channing

  1. Pingback: Parental approval for What Kills Me | Wynne Channing

  2. This sounds really good. I followed the author on both twitter and facebook and tweeted at her the message. Is that all I need to do to enter?

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

