Author Guest Post: E.M. Tippetts

Hi everyone.  Today, author Emily Tippetts has stopped by Treasured Tales with a lovely guest post.  Welcome to Treasured Tales, Emily.  In Emily’s guest post, she introduces readers to her novel Castles on the Sand, including the two main characters, Madison and John.

*********

It’s such an honor to be able to post on Treasured Tales today! I got my start in writing at a workshop for science fiction and fantasy, which I wrote exclusively for about six years. Then I branched out into chick lit and published my first novel. Then I decided to try something crazy and indie published my next chick lit book. That book took off with teen readers, who put it on the Top 100 Children’s Books on Amazon for a month. And so this is how I’ve ended up a YA writer, as this is the age group that seems to be interested in my stories.

My latest book, Castles on the Sand, is the first YA book I’ve written on purpose. Since my YA fans had been so generous with my last book, Someone Else’s Fairytale, I wanted to write something just for them. Fairytale’s protagonist is 21 when the book starts and 23 when it ends. While I’m sure plenty of young readers will follow her into the sequel, Nobody’s Damsel, I wanted to start a book series with a younger protagonist in her teens. I also had an idea I’d been kicking around for some time about siblings separated as children, only to find each other later in life. Roll these ideas together with a setting on the northern California coast, and you have Castles on the Sand.

This book features Madison Lukas, age sixteen, who has absolutely no one on her side. Her mother barely tolerates her existence, her best “friend” barely deserves the title, and a guy who’s interested in her wants just one thing. What I found interesting about Madison is that I think she does pretty well for someone with no moral support or guidance whatsoever, but there’s only so much a girl can do on her own.

Enter John Britton, who sees Madison walking down the street and recognizes her at once. The last time he saw her, she was a year old, and their parents were getting a divorce. Mom took Madison away and John never did find out where they went. Now that he’s seen her, though, he’s desperate to get to know her and be a part of her life. There are two problems.

One is that John is a stranger to Madison. She doesn’t remember her father or any of her brothers. Her mother never even mentioned her marriage, so Madison’s grown up assuming that she was the product of an out of wedlock fling.

The other is that John is in a suit with a nametag that says, “Elder Britton, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints”. That’s right, he’s a Mormon, as was his mother before she stormed out on her marriage and former life. It’s a shock to Madison to find out she has a brother. The fact that her mother used to belong to this religion completely throws her for a loop.

All John wants is to be able to be in Madison’s life. When he sees all the mistakes she’s making, he’s desperate to help straighten her out. To Madison, he comes off as pushy and overbearing and she just wants him to leave her alone.

Will these two siblings work out their differences? Will John gain Madison’s trust before she makes a mistake she’ll regret her whole life? I had a lot of fun writing, Castles on the Sand, and hope people enjoy reading it!

**********

Thank you so much for the awesome guest post, Emily.

~*~

Author bio (from goodreads):

Emily Mah Tippetts writes romance under the name E.M. Tippetts and science fiction and fantasy under the name Emily Mah. Originally from New Mexico, she now lives in London with her family. Before she was a published author, she was an attorney who specialized in real estate, contracts, and estate planning, especially literary estate planning.

More information about Emily Tippetts and Castles on the Sand:

blog ~ goodreads ~ twitter ~ amazon

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

