Escape Publishing Blog Hop: Guest Post

HARL_escapeLOGO_red (2)___________________________________

Today, is Treasured Tales for Young Adults stop on the Escape Publishing Blog Hop.  I am very excited to welcome the Managing Editor of Escape Publishing, Kate, to the blog.  In Kate’s guest post, she shares with us what it is like to be an editor.  Welcome to Treasured Tales, Kate. 😀

~*~

blogAuthor (2)Hi Alishia. Thanks for inviting me to your blog today.

You asked, ‘what’s it like to be an editor?’ That’s a hard question to answer, because there are all sorts of different editors across all sorts of different media. However, I’m very happy to tell you what it’s like to be Managing Editor for Escape Publishing – that is, me.

First, generally, if you’d like to become an editor, you should probably take some qualifications. I have a Honours BA in Comparative Literature, and a Master’s in Writing, Editing, and Publishing. Luckily in Australia, there are a number of different courses at a number of different universities, so you should be able to find a university near you that offers the right course.

I’ve worked in a number of different fields, from kids’ books to exercise DVDs, corporate media to academic journals. But by far my favourite job has been the one I hold now.

As Managing Editor, Escape Publishing, it is my job to choose which titles we acquire and publish. I am also responsible for representing Escape Publishing to the world – whether it is at events or conferences or via social media and blogs. I don’t get to do very much hands-on editing any more, but I still work with a couple of authors to keep my skills up.

Generally I start my day checking emails. I get a fair few come through from our signed authors, potential authors, marketing, IT, bloggers – any number of people. If I don’t stay on top of my email, I tend to get buried in it.

At the moment – as you may know – I’m on the biggest blog tour ever, so I will spend probably an hour or two a day putting together upcoming blogs. I’m also editing – there are two authors on our list that I work with personally, and one has a book coming out soon, so I’m busy working with her to make it the best it can be.

I’m also responsible for answering submission enquiries, and, of course, reading through the  submissions that come through. We offer a very fast turnaround time of only two weeks, so I spend a great deal of time reading. Tomorrow, for example, is blocked out entirely for reading submissions.

Once a week I will send out acceptances or rejections, and this normally happens in the evening or on the weekends (there’s no reason for that – it just sort of works out that way).

And throughout the day I’m on Twitter and Facebook, and also our author forums, sharing news or ideas or even what I’m reading so readers have an idea of what they can expect from Escape.

Then, at night, I’ll take a full submission to bed with me!

It’s a lot of work, but it’s great work – and I get to read all of the Escape Publishing books before anyone else, so you won’t catch me complaining!

Thanks so much for inviting me along, Alishia. You can find out more about Escape at our website, www.escapepublishing.com.au, including all the books we have available!

~*~

authors

Kate with some of the Escape Publishing authors.

~*~

Wow, isn’t Kate’s job amazing.  Thanks for the guest post, Kate.

Escape Publishing is an amazing opportunity for authors.  Do you have a book you are writing?  Escape Publishing may just be for you.

2 thoughts on “Escape Publishing Blog Hop: Guest Post

  1. Hello Alishia, I enoyed your blog. I will let my seventeen year old,avid reader,granddaughter know about it. Thank you for your guest blogger, Kate. My husband and I both published with a fairly small local publisher , Wheatmark publishing, here in Tucson. We found them terrifically supportive and helpful. It sounds like Kate would be that sort too. JoAnn

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

