Shadowed Blog Tour – Guest Post by Sarah Alderson (Locations)

Shadowed_banner

Hi Treasured Tales followers.  *waves hello*  Today, I would like to welcome author Sarah Alderson back to Treasured Tales.  Sarah has written a guest post about some of the locations that feature in the novel Shadowed, the third and final novel in the Fated series.

___________________________________

Locations

ShadowedShadowed is set mainly in LA, though it does start off in Riverview, Evie’s hometown.

I set the Fated series in California because I was there when I first started writing it. I love California. It’s one of my favourite places in the world. Riverview was based on some of the towns we drove through on our way to San Francisco and Yosemite. It’s so beautiful, really rural with lots of orchards. We went swimming in this stunning swimming hole, which inspired the location for the swimming hole in Fated.

When it came to trying to think of a good location for the way through/Gateway I was inspired by the movie Blade Runner which was filmed at the Bradbury Building. When I started researching it I thought that it would be perfect because it does in actual fact house the LAPD’s Internal Affairs department, which I thought would be hilarious. The fact that the police are sitting above it was kind of funny.

http://trespassparade.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/BradburyBuilding.jpg

http://www.greatbuildings.com/gbc/images/cid_1160284087_Bradbury_Building_01.jpg

Can you not just imagine a kickass fight scene happening in here with Thirsters baying for blood and Vero wielding a flamethrower?

I took some liberties with the parking lot out the back and added some fast food restaurants too in order to help the plot along. I also completely invented the Costume Shop in the basement. As far as I’m aware there is no costume shop in the basement hiding a secret doorway through to other realms.

The house where Victor is living in West Hollywood I based on the house I stayed in when I was there. It was actually the house used in a Steve Martin movie “LA Story” and it was perfect – and I liked the incongruousness of it.

At one point in Shadowed they head to the Getty Museum, which is one of my favourite places in LA. It’s this incredible art museum on top of a hill overlooking LA with sweeping views across the city.

http://www.u.arizona.edu/~sandiway/blog/getty/getty1.jpg

http://www.palosstudioblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/los-angeles-getty-engagement-1(pp_w860_h573).jpg

I also thought it would be funny to have The Originals hanging out in Beverly Hills. I mean if you were a thousand year old Thirster who could choose where to live, you’d probably choose a mansion in BH too, right? Though there are other reasons too.

Imagine them all walking down a street like this, armed to the teeth with blades and flame throwers.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c4/Beverly_Hills11.JPG

~*~

Thank you so much for the guest post, Sarah.

~*~

Wasn’t that an awesome guest post about the locations that feature in Shadowed?  Have you read the Fated series?

~*~

Check out the Fated trilogy:

Fated series

___________________________________

Sarah AldersonAuthor bio (from Goodreads) –

Having spent most of her life in London, Sarah quit her job in the non profit sector in 2009 and took off on a round the world trip with her husband and princess-obsessed daughter on a mission to find a new place to call home. After several months in India, Singapore, Australia and the US, they settled in Bali where Sarah now spends her days writing by the pool and trying to machete open coconuts without severing a limb.

She finished her first novel, Hunting Lila, just before they left the UK, wrote the sequel on the beach in India and had signed a two book deal with Simon & Schuster by the time they had reached Bali.

More information about Sarah Alderson and the Fated series:

website/blog ~ goodreads ~ twitter

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

