Blogger Guest Post: Alison (from Alison Can Read) [Twilight 5th Anniversary Celebration]

twilight_anniversary

Today, Alison (from Alison Can Read) has stopped by with a guest post to help celebrate the 5th anniversary of the cinematic release of Twilight.  Welcome to Treasured Tales, Alison.  Thank you for the post. 😀

______________________________

Hi everyone! I’m Alison from Alison Can Read, a young adult and manga books blog. Thanks so much to Alishia for asking me to write a guest post in honor of the fifth anniversary of the Twilight movie.

I’ve been an unabashed Twilight fan for just over five years. It’s hard to believe it’s been that long. I read all four books in October 2008. At the time I was vaguely aware that a movie was coming out but mostly because there were rumors that the Harry Potter movie had been delayed because of the Twilight movie. I was annoyed about that. I fell in love with the Twilight series the moment I read them and then waited with bated breath for 6 weeks for the movie to come out.

I adored the first Twilight movie. I saw it twice in the theaters and watched it on DVD multiple times. After a total of five Twilight movies, the first one is still my favorite. There’s a few reasons for that. First, I loved the edgy atmosphere that Catherine Hardwicke established for the film. It was a low budget movie and looked like it, but it had an energy that the later movies didn’t achieve. Also, I enjoyed watching the actors. They were young and mostly not famous. They all seemed like they were friends, they were having fun, and they were grateful to be there. As the group became more famous/infamous as the years went on, the collegial feeling amongst the actors seemed to go away. You can feel that even when they’re pretending to be other people. And of course, a significant reason that the first movie felt so fresh is that the hatred wasn’t as prominent. Plenty of people complained about the books and movies, but the popular consensus hadn’t yet reduced the word Twilight to a sneering joke.

The movie was far from perfect. Even I, a huge fan, laughed at the movie numerous times rather than with it. The acting was so so. Rob Pattinson hadn’t quite gotten an American accent figured out. The pacing wasn’t perfect. I forgive all of that. The fun and the wonder that I experienced watching the movie outweighed all its flaws. The subsequent movies were better shot, better plotted, better scripted, and better acted. Still, none of them have quite achieved the love I have for the first film. Congratulations to Twilight for reaching its fifth anniversary.  It’s been quite a ride.

twilight_poster

 

______________________________

 
Thank you, Alison, for sharing your thoughts on Twilight.  You can visit Alison’s blog by clicking on the icon below –

acr_150_01

~*~

Competition

Don’t forget to check out the competition page for your chance to win a Twilight prize pack.

Previous Twilight post:

My Twilight Story

Next Twilight Post:

Yara (from Once Upon a Twilight)

12 thoughts on “Blogger Guest Post: Alison (from Alison Can Read) [Twilight 5th Anniversary Celebration]

  1. Pingback: Blogger Guest Post: Toby (from Toby and the Munchkin) [Twilight 5th Anniversary Celebration] | Treasured Tales for Young Adults

  2. Pingback: Blogger Guest Post: Yara (from Once Upon a Twilight) [Twilight 5th Anniversary Celebration] | Treasured Tales for Young Adults

  3. I’m glad someone enjoyed the movie! At first I was scared to watch it because everyone was hating on it so much 😦 I kinda liked it though and I watched it more than once too.

  4. Pingback: Happy 5th Anniversary Twilight + Competition | Treasured Tales for Young Adults

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

