Happy 5th Anniversary Twilight

twilight_anniversary~*~

Five years ago today, on the 21st of November 2008, the Twilight movie was officially released at the cinemas in the U.S.A, and while Australia had to wait until the 11th of December 2008 to see Twilight on the big screen, Twilight was officially out in the world – the wait was over, Bella, Edward, and Jacob had been brought to life on the silver screen.

To celebrate the 5th anniversary of the cinematic release of Twilight, Treasured Tales for Young Adults is having a Twilight celebration.  Over the next few days, bloggers will be stopping by to share their thoughts on the Twilight movie.  There is also a Twilight prize to win – just click here for details. *competition is now closed*

Before Alison (from Alison Can Read) stops by with her thoughts on Twilight, I would like to share my Twilight story.

I hope you enjoy the celebration.

______________________________

My Twilight Story

twilight_aussie_ posterIn July 2008, I discovered the Twilight books.  As I read Twilight, I became more and more enthralled by Bella and Edward’s story.  After reading Twilight,  I went back to my local bookstore once a week for three weeks and bought the next book in the series.  I remember shopping one day after I had just finished reading Breaking Dawn – I walked through the grocery shop in a dream-like state as I was thinking about the book.

While I was reading Twilight, I discovered that it was being adapted into a movie; I was thrilled.  Over the next few months, I spent hours on the internet watching the teaser trailers, discovering Twilight fan sites, and reading articles about the movie and the cast.

I was counting down the days for the Australian release of the movie, and then the moment arrived – it was finally time to see the movie!!!!  I remember sitting in the movie theatre being so excited.

From watching the teaser trailers, I was quite sure that I would love the movie and that was confirmed from the moment I saw a flash of Edward hunting a deer in the forest.  The way the movie started just seemed so right, so perfect.  As I watched Bella leave Phoenix and saw the landscape of Forks appear, I knew that the movie would be perfect.  Director Catherine Hardwicke, screenwriter Melissa Rosenberg, and the production team had stayed true to the books, perfectly capturing the essence of the novel – from the greenery of Forks to the intense connection and attraction between Bella and Edward – it was all there.

I remember smiling as I watched the Cullens walk into the cafeteria as Jessica gossiped about them to Bella, and I also remember smiling from ear to ear as Robert Pattinson walked into the cafeteria as Edward Cullen.  I still smile when I watch that scene.

As I think of Twilight now, I remember my favourite scenes, those scenes that held me captivated – when Edward follows Bella into the forest, their time in the meadow, and the beautiful moments of Bella and Edward dancing under the pergola surrounded by thousands of fairy lights at the prom (so beautiful).  Everything about the movie was perfect to me.

Nothing I say will truly capture just how much I love the movie.  The Twilight Saga means so very much to me;  I deeply love the story.  It’s romantic, passionate, beautiful, and heartfelt.  These books gave me back my love of reading – they changed my life.  I will always and forever be a proud Twilighter.

my_life_now

~*~

The Meadow

Twilight_prom

~*~

Next Twilight post:

Alison (from Alison Can Read)

*Twilight movie stills remain the property of Summit Entertainment.
13 thoughts on “Happy 5th Anniversary Twilight

  1. Pingback: Blogger Guest Post: Toby (from Toby and the Munchkin) [Twilight 5th Anniversary Celebration] | Treasured Tales for Young Adults

  2. Pingback: Blogger Guest Post: Yara (from Once Upon a Twilight) [Twilight 5th Anniversary Celebration] | Treasured Tales for Young Adults

  3. This brings back the memories when I started reading this series! A girl in my class carried around the first book like it was the most precious thing in the world and after reading it I understood her obsession 😄 It was so good I stayed up late to finish it and it was a school night. So that’s how I became a fan of the series 🙂

  4. Not entering the giveaway but wanted to say that I’m a proud Twilighter as well. This series will always hold a special place in my heart and as much as I think the books are way beyond anything that the movies can capture, I have to agree with everything that you’ve said about the Twilight movie.

  5. Pingback: Blogger Guest Post: Alison (from Alison Can Read) [Twilight 5th Anniversary Celebration] | Treasured Tales for Young Adults

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

