Interview with Victoria Foyt

Author Interview

Below is my interview with Victoria Foyt, author of Revealing Eden (Save the Pearls Part One).  Thank you to Victoria for the interview.

*****

Would you tell us a little about yourself?

I seem to straddle two extremes in a very logical, but romantic way: I’m both deeply analytical and highly creative. Fortunately, I’m also a homebody, because a writer’s life isn’t very social. Mostly, I think I’m grateful. That sounds like a pushover, but I simply mean that I don’t take things in my life for granted. Life has broken my habit of expectation! But perhaps the most salient characteristic I have is my deep abiding addiction to dark chocolate.

At the University of Miami and in Europe, I studied foreign languages, which deepened my love of words and prose. Later, I moved to Los Angeles and found the opportunity to write screenplays, which honed my use of dialogue, location and story structure. I also studied acting and starred in several indie films (Déjà vu, Last Summer In the Hamptons, Going Shopping, Babyfever) that I co-wrote. I highly recommend at least one course in acting for all writers if you want to boost your understanding of character.

Currently, I live in the pretty coastal town of Santa Monica where I write every morning, manage family business, play tennis, and spend time with my family and friends.

Do you have a favourite place where you like to write?

The minute I close the door to my guesthouse—my sacred writing spot—I breathe a sign of relief. I’m happy to be once more in the company of my characters, eager to see what we will discover that day. The office is set up on a quiet hill; my computer offline to minimize distraction. I usually arrive by 8:30 a.m., coffee mug in hand. Often, I meditate before I begin in order to tap into my imagination. I never feel alone there. In fact, I’m highly entertained and the hours pass quickly.

When writing, do you listen to music for inspiration?

Not from any outside source, although sometimes, I hear snatches of music as if it were playing in a scene in my head. I often feel as if I’m simply taking dictation, writing down the dialogue between characters and describing what happens. Music would only distract; I have to pay close attention. For inspiration, I read both fiction and nonfiction, including several newspapers, and observe life. Plenty of material there!

What are you reading at the moment?

I decided to read non-fiction for a change, and just finished Napoleon Hill’s classic on positive thinking, Think and Grow Rich. My teenage son is a budding philosopher, and this book will add to our discussions on everything from the Tao Te Ching to Machiavelli.

In your novel, Revealing Eden, you include poetry by Emily Dickinson. Has her poetry inspired you as a writer?

I fell in love with her poetry as a young girl. I suppose it was no surprise that, one day, it would show up in my work, though I didn’t consciously plan to use it. In fact, the decision came in a sudden burst of inspiration. Looking back, what a great way to contrast Eden’s initial belief that love is dead by giving her Emily Dickinson as an “adopted aunt” who ultimately teaches her: That love is all there is,  / Is all we know of Love.

Have you had the opportunity to meet any of your favourite authors?

Sadly, no, especially since many are dead: Margaret Mitchell, J.D. Salinger, Ernest Hemingway, Charles Dickens, Alexandre Dumas, Dostoyevsky, Nabokov. Happily, however, their spirits live on in their works, and in that way, I have truly met them.

Is there a message to Revealing Eden that you hope readers embrace?

Unfortunately, it isn’t hard to imagine that our world may one day resemble the bleak, depleted environment depicted in Revealing Eden. If we do not take better care of the earth, and stop depleting the ozone level with pollution, the effects of solar radiation will increase. Take it one step further, and the melanin in those with dark skin may enable them to survive better, putting whites at an extreme disadvantage. Perhaps this will serve as a wake-up call, and hopefully, promote better understanding between the races.

How would you describe the relationship between Bramford and Eden in one sentence?

If only these two could get past their secrets, the source of so many misunderstandings, they would find true love!

Who is your favourite Revealing Eden character?

I love Eden Newman’s courage in the face of oppression. Her willingness to open her heart, despite her belief that love is dead and all that matters is evolutionary climbing, inspired me, too. I was amazed to watch her progress from this frightened girl who is literally afraid of her own skin to someone who fights for her survival, and in doing so, finds self-acceptance and love.

Is there anything you can share with us about Adapting Eden – the sequel to Revealing Eden?

In Save The Pearls Part Two, just when Eden thinks things are going her way, the past comes back to haunt her. If she thought life and love challenged her before, the stakes ratchet even higher. She must fight to save those she loves against impossible odds, testing herself beyond her limits—in love and physical strength—while the countdown to humanity’s extinction continues. She must embrace her power, or she will die, and those she loves too.  I’ll tell you, being in her beastly head is quite a thrilling ride!

By the way, I love to hear from readers! Please visit me at VictoriaFoyt.com or at Facebook.com/VictoriaFoyt. Or check out Eden Newman’s videos on the amazing interactive site: SaveThePearls.com.

Thanks so much!

*****

Thank you Victoria for the interview.

Revealing Eden (Save the Pearls Part One) is an amazing and very intriguing novel.  You can read my review of Revealing Eden by clicking here.

One thought on “Interview with Victoria Foyt

Thank you for your comment. I love to get comments, and I try my best to answer them all.

